Sundance Film Festival: a week later

I applied to be a volunteer at Sundance London back in January, but never would have thought in a million years I would be chosen! Here’s a summary of my experience.

As stated, the application process began in January. I then did not hear back until March, when I heard I was placed in Theatre Operations. Then, came weekly newsletters guiding me on what the festival would be like.

20140504-194500.jpg

Despite being guided and thinking I had an idea of what it would be like, I was still surprised to see so many people. My first shift was at the premiere of Frank, which had Michael Fassbender. (Yes. He looks the same in real life.) Crowds were insane for him. I also saw Domhnall Gleeson, also actor of Frank. A few days later he was announced to be in the new cast of the upcoming Star Wars film, which I thought was awesome!

Friday was a crazy day as I was taking tickets for a Frank: it was my first shift, and I was so nervous that I wouldn’t meet any nice people (I know, really).

Saturday and Sunday, though were absolutely amazing. The people I got to be with were amazing, the films I saw were fantastic, and I was able to learn so much more about media and film from people in that field.

I definitely recommend applying for being a volunteer at Sundance London, and if you are 21+, apply for Sundance in Utah too. It’s a great experience with added benefits of a party, free food and drink and free films! What’s more to love!

20140504-200247.jpg

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment